Framed Tibetan Thangka Painting – Buddha’s Life Story (blue, orange, grey, pink) 330mm x 290mm


Original hand painted Thangka created by Tibetan refugees. Naggar Valley donates 10% of all profits generated from sales of Thangka paintings to Lha charity in McLeod Ganj, India. For more information regarding the wonderful work that Lha do please visit our About Lha Charity page.

In stock

SKU: TKA150020 Category:


This is a beautiful unique hand painted Tibetan Thangka.

It is painted on cotton canvas with rich colours of blue, orange, grey, and pink, image size – 300mm x 345mm. Total size with frame – 460mm x 520mm.

This striking painting is presented in a bespoke dark wooden frame. The distressed finish adds an aged feel which compliments the art work perfectly.


This Thangka serves as an important teaching tool depicting the 12 life stages of the Buddha. Originally lamas and monks used scroll paintings to instruct the Buddhist Dharma teachings. These paintings were easily transported and unrolled to suit the needs of the mainly nomadic population. The lama would go to a village, unroll a Thangka and use it to illustrate their tales on Buddhist philosophy when narrating before an audience. Below is a breakdown describing the 12 life stages.

Buddha’s 12 Life Stages

1. Sakyamuni passed on his throne and the leadership of Gaden (Tushita Heaven) to Jampa (Maitreya) when he descended to our realm.

 2. Sakyamuni’s mother dreamed of a six-tusked white elephant and was conceived with the Buddha.

 3. Sakyamuni was born from his mother’s side. Immediately after birth, he took seven steps–in each step sprang up a lotus.

 4. Sakyamuni was married and lived in luxury as a prince in a beautiful palace, secluded by his father from the harsh realities of the world.

 5. Later, he secretly left the palace and saw for the first time the sufferings of death, sickness, and old age. He also saw a radiantly happy sadhu and decided to pursue the same path.

 6. He renounced his rich life and left the palace, accompanied only by one servant.

 7. He cut his hair as a sign of renunciation and became a monk.

 8. He meditated for six years, eating very little until he realized that neither extreme of self asceticism or of extreme self indulgence was the way–rather he decided to take a middle path.

9. He was tempted by many demons who tried to break his meditation and stop him from reaching enlightenment.

10. He attained enlightenment at Dorje Dun, having vowed to remain steadfast in his meditation until he did so.

11. After enlightenment, he taught the dharma to his disciples and followers until …

12.  ….His death in Kushinagar.



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.