We have now sold this Thangka however commissions are available, please click image for details.


This beautiful hand painted Tibetan Thangka has now been sold.

It is possible however for us to commission the same artist who created it to paint another piece in the same design.

Every Thangka we sell is painted by hand so no two are ever identical. This indeed is part of their authentic charm.

If you would like us to commission a piece we can however assure you that the design, image size and colours used along with the incredible attention to detail will be completely in keeping with the painting depicted here.

If you would like some more information or would like us to commission a piece of art in a particular design please get in touch via the details on our contacts page.

Out of stock

SKU: TKA150019 Category:


Here are the details of the sold painting:

Buddha’s Life Story

This piece is painted on cotton canvas using colours derived from natural stone and mineral – brown, blue, grey and gold, image size – 610mm x 470mm.

The detail in this painting is truly amazing and a piece like this takes as much as two months to paint.

This Thangka serves as an important teaching tool depicting the 12 life stages of the Buddha. Originally lamas and monks used scroll paintings to instruct the Buddhist Dharma teachings. These paintings were easily transported and unrolled to suit the needs of the mainly nomadic population. The lama would go to a village, unroll a Thangka and use it to illustrate their tales on Buddhist philosophy when narrating before an audience. Below is a breakdown describing the 12 life stages.


Buddha’s 12 Life Stages

1. Sakyamuni passed on his throne and the leadership of Gaden (Tushita Heaven) to Jampa (Maitreya) when he descended to our realm.

 2. Sakyamuni’s mother dreamed of a six-tusked white elephant and was conceived with the Buddha.

 3. Sakyamuni was born from his mother’s side. Immediately after birth, he took seven steps–in each step sprang up a lotus.

 4. Sakyamuni was married and lived in luxury as a prince in a beautiful palace, secluded by his father from the harsh realities of the world.

 5. Later, he secretly left the palace and saw for the first time the sufferings of death, sickness, and old age. He also saw a radiantly happy sadhu and decided to pursue the same path.

 6. He renounced his rich life and left the palace, accompanied only by one servant.

 7. He cut his hair as a sign of renunciation and became a monk.

 8. He meditated for six years, eating very little until he realized that neither extreme of self asceticism or of extreme self indulgence was the way–rather he decided to take a middle path.

9. He was tempted by many demons who tried to break his meditation and stop him from reaching enlightenment.

10. He attained enlightenment at Dorje Dun, having vowed to remain steadfast in his meditation until he did so.

11. After enlightenment, he taught the dharma to his disciples and followers until …

12.  ….His death in Kushinagar.



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.